USPTO Expands Patent Law School Pilot Program

Newly selected law schools to join the pilot program for fall 2012

The United States Department of Commerce’s USPTO today announced the selection of 11 additional law schools to join the Patent Law School Clinic Certification Pilot Program, starting this fall. The program allows law students to practice patent law before the USPTO under the guidance of a faculty clinic supervisor.

The selected schools are Arizona State University Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law, Case Western Reserve University School of Law, University of Colorado Law School, Fordham University School of Law, University of Maryland Francis Carey School of Law, North Carolina Central University School of Law, University of Notre Dame Law School, University of Puerto Rico Law School, Thomas Jefferson School of Law, University of Washington School of Law, and Wayne State University Law School.

“Our selection committee chose these eleven schools because of their exemplary intellectual property curricula, their effective outreach to inventor communities, and their comprehensive client services,” said Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the USPTO David J. Kappos.

New this year, students participating in the program will benefit from the Petition to Make Special component announced in June. The petition provides more immediate response for applications filed by students, so they will more likely have the opportunity to respond to a substantive office action.